2022 Annual Member Meeting

Grid Forward is planning to hold its 2022 Annual Member Meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii, to coincide with WCPSC conference on June 7, 2022. Let us know if you can join in-person or virtually.

Nominations for 3rd annual Grid Innovator Awards closed on May 20.

Advisory Board Triangle image

Members: Join Us in Honolulu or Online for our 2022 Annual Meeting

Grid Forward’s meeting in 2022 is scheduled to coincide with the annual education conference of the Western Conference of Public Service Commissioners. Come join us in-person in Honolulu, Hawaii or log-in virtually to attend. Grid Forward will once again gather in June to share updates, elect board members, catch up with our fellow members and celebrate the third annual Grid Innovation Awards. 

If you are a member, please let us know if you plan to attend. Simply use the form below.

 June 7, 2022 – in-person and virtual
12:30pm Hawaii time / 3:30pm Pacific time
Last chance to nominate a person or organization for the 2022 Grid Innovator Awards here >

Grid Forward Annual Meeting Agenda

  • 12:30pm Hawaii / 3:30pm Pacific: Featured remarks including from Pat Hoffman, Head of the New Office of Grid Infrastructure, U.S. Department of Energy
  • 1:00pm Grid Innovators Awards
  • 1:15pm Business items including annual update, and election of Board of Directors
  • 1:30pm End and optional tour of Hawaiian Electric new utility scale solar project with on-site storage – details will be shared with confirmed gathering participants.

Pat Hoffman, Head of DOE Office of Grid Infrastructure

Board Members for Renewing Terms:

  • Julie Desimone, Moss Adams (Treasurer)
  • John Gibson, Avista
  • Scott Harden, Schneider Electric
  • Bill Holmes, K&L Gates (Secretary)
  • Marissa Hummon, Utilidata (Vice Chair)

See other boards of directors here >>

Board Triangle image

New Board Members up for Election:

Hanna Grene

Director, Energy & Sustainability


Hanna Grene, Director for Energy and Sustainability at Microsoft, is an energy and technology executive with over 14 years of leadership experience in strategic planning, operations, marketing, policy, and business development. She has worked closely with federal agencies, governments, utilities, and C&I clients worldwide to fund and execute renewable energy and grid resilience projects. At Microsoft, Hanna leads strategy and partnerships across the Power and Utilities market in the Americas and works closely with Fortune 500 executives and policymakers to accelerate investment and innovation in a decarbonized, secure, resilient, and affordable energy system. Prior to joining the Microsoft team in 2021, Hanna was the Chief of Commercial Development for PXiSE Energy Solutions, a San Diego-based startup company and subsidiary of Sempra Energy that builds grid controls technology. Hanna helped the organization complete 800MW of renewable energy and microgrid projects across three continents and seven countries. As the Director of Policy at the Center for Sustainable Energy, Grene led corporate strategy and advanced critical legislation to secure $1B in funding for solar, battery storage, and EVs in CA and OR with an emphasis on equity-focused programs. She has advised public utilities commissions, government agencies, and lawmakers on market barriers, technology, and data-based incentive structures to accelerate renewable energy and electric vehicle adoption. Hanna has an MBA from the Rady School of Management at the University of California San Diego and a BA in International Relations from American University. She has been published as a subject matter expert on energy and climate issues with local and national press and has authored original research on corporate governance and culture. In 2021, Hanna was recognized as a San Diego 40 Under 40 Top Business Leader.

Anne Hoskins

Chief Policy Officer


Anne Hoskins is Sunrun’s Chief Policy Officer where she leads policy advocacy to expand access to solar energy and storage, electrify the grid and create a more sustainable energy system. Anne serves on the Board of the Interstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC) and is Vice Chair of the Solar Energy Industries Association Board of Directors. Prior to joining Sunrun, Anne served as a Commissioner on the Maryland Public Service Commission and was a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Board of Directors and Chair of the NARUC International Relations Committee. Anne’s prior professional positions include Senior Vice President for Policy and Sustainability at Public Service Enterprise Group, Visiting Research Scholar and Instructor at Princeton University, Senior Regulatory Counsel at Verizon Wireless and Policy Advisor to New Jersey Governor Thomas Kean. She is a graduate of Harvard Law School, the Princeton School of Public and International Affairs and Cornell University, where she currently serves on the Advisory Council to the Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

New Additions to Advisory Board:

  • Heather Donaldson, Managing Director, Black & Veatch
  • Charity Fain, Executive Director, Community Energy Project
  • Larry Luong, Federal Affairs Manager, SMUD
  • Terri Lynne Daque, Director Strategic Innovation, ENMAX
  • Smriti Mishra, Director, WeaveGrid
  • Adam Richins, Chief Operating Officer, Idaho Power
  • Ried Shibata, Manager Grid Modernization, Puget Sound Energy
  • Xing Wang, Head of WW Public Sector Power & Utilities, Amazon

See other Advisors here >>

Advisory Board Triangle image

Congrats to the 2022 Grid Innovator Winners

Utility Category Winner




Other Finalists

Provider Category Winner




Other Finalists


Individual Category Winner

  • Jennifer Potter, HI PUC

Other Finalists

  • Tanuj Deora, WhiteHouse
  • Ralph Kappelhoff, Former Amazon
  • Elliot Mainzer, CalISO
  • Audrey Zibelman, Google X

Members: Confirm Your Attendance

2021 Annual Member Meeting Highlights

Grid Forward members came together on June 10, 2021  for our second virtual annual meeting! We caught up on organization initiatives, elected board members, and had a chance to enjoy seeing each other, if only on screen.

We also announced the Grid Innovation Award winners for 2021. Congratulations to Esource, Snohomish PUD (right) and Carl Imhoff of PNNL.

After announcing the winners of the Grid Innovator Awards we assembled a panel to expand on Bryce Yonker’s Utility Dive article entitled Beyond solar and wind: 10 steps to meet President Biden’s clean electricity target. Listen in to three industry viewpoints on grid decarbonization:

  • Michael Pesin, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Dept. of Energy
  • Jennifer Potter, Hawaii PUC Commissioner
  • Bill Ritter, former Colorado Governor and Director, Center for New Energy Economy